Mother Teresa of Calcutta (Book Review)

https://s3.amazonaws.com/files.lighthousecatholicmedia.org/images/covers/LH_BK_MT25.png

I got this book for free at one of our local parish, St. Bonaventure during the Feast of Mary, the Mother of God. To be honest, I never liked reading biographies, because they simply do not interest me. I would only read biographies when I am doing a paper on that specific individual (which by the way I just really skim through). As one of the parish volunteers handed me the Mother Teresa book, I knew it will either become part of my pile on “want-to-read-books-but-don’t-have-time” bookshelf or simply the “donate-pile” books. Don’t get me wrong, I admire Mother Teresa and the work she had done. I admire her life, her ministry and her charity… I just rather prefer not to read about them, and just watch documentaries instead.

My perception changed as soon as I started reading the book, her character, her humility, and her kindness intrigued me. Father Maasburg’s preface about her caught my attention and I started reading… reading until I did not realize I could not put the book down. Her character is amusing and very interesting to read. The things she says are so genuine that the people she encounters truly sees Jesus within her.

Matthew Kelly once said, “Immerse yourself in things that make you the best version of yourself.” I can truly say that this book left me being the best version of myself, because it taught me to love, to see, and to look at others like Jesus.

Mother Teresa never made herself the center of attention. But when she was put in the spotlight by others–after she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1979–that was practically a perpetual state. She used the opportunity to point attention away from herself and toward Christ. (p. x)”

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

Leave a Reply

