#BestLentEver – Day 12. Soulful.

I need to think about this for a minute… I was really not the best version of myself today. Mostly because I know there are some things I should’ve left unsaid and some things I should’ve never done. Nevertheless, I still did the things I did and I still said the things I said today. I don’t know. I’m like a Screwtape magnet (CS Lewis reference), they probably know what I’m up to. Well, guess what I know what they’re up to as well! I just need to work a little bit harder and pray a little bit more!

Matthew Kelly said something that hit me today, “…if there is something you want to stop doing, you’ve got to crowd it out with other good things that do actually help you become the-best-version-of-yourself.”

And I guess that’s just it… sometimes we try to just avoid the bad things, but most of the time we keep coming back to it because we don’t replace it with the good. It’s kind of like when you want to become more healthy, you get rid of all the junk food and sweets, but never strive to replace them with healthier food so you just end up hungry and you resort back to eating the junk.

Now why didn’t I think of this before? Because we focus on ourselves too much! When we start focusing our attention to where it matters most (*cough* like Jesus), we start diverting our resources and time to things that make us the best version of ourselves!

Lord, help me to live and love more soulfully.

 

PFM. PFW.

 

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

Leave a Reply

