Why I’m Still Catholic –a response

Recently, I have read a post from Patheos asking all Catholic bloggers, authors, priests, speakers, etc… on “Why do you remain a Catholic?” This is my response.

It took me a while to form my thoughts on this certain topic, because honestly, most of what I wanted to say was already touched on by amazing writers of our diverse Catholic community. However, as I was reading posts from Catholics all over the world, it gave me a reason to write, because despite living in a world where believing is seeing, and ignorance of faith has been rapidly increasing; there are still quite a number of people who believe in what I believe in.

Born and raised Catholic, I grew up with a strict ideology of why going to church was a necessary tool for growth in our faith–although I never really understood how until I fell in love with the church itself. The purpose of this post, however, is not to tell you how I came to love the church, but to simply give you my reason why I’m still and will continue to stand by the church.

I only have one reason to give–apart from hundreds of wonderful testimonies, countless logic and reasoning–I have, but one. And that is, it simply gives me hope. Frankly, I can’t imagine living my life without it. It gives me the reason why I continue to do the things I do. It gives me joy. It gives me my purpose–I know that my purpose is not just to live, but to simply live for Him. I know that beyond this life, there is a God who continues loving; beyond this world that continues hurting, there is a heaven that is life-giving. I’ve always kept Mother Teresa’s quote at the back of my head because she is the epitome of love and she gave the perfect representation of a true Christian witness, “…You see, in the final analysis (of life) it is between you and God; it was never between you and them anyway.” 

You ask me why I’m still Catholic, I’m Catholic because that’s what I’m meant to be and as Matthew Kelly would say, “Be the best version of yourself.” Being a Catholic, I become just that.

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Still Catholic –a response”

Leave a Reply

