Why I Want to Quit my Job–(a Confession)

Almost four months in since I’ve started working in a corporate job setting. Almost a year since I graduated from a degree I thought would bring me contentment. You see… this job pays the bills. It pays a lot of things– my wants, my needs, my leisurely expenses, my convenience… sometimes even my temporary happiness. I’m happy with my job. I like it. Not too stressful, not too boring, it doesn’t take away my time from service. Although since I’ve started, I have had this recurring thought/question of a desire I never once dreamed I would have. What is my purpose? What is it really? Am I really just supposed to be earning money to pay my loans? Is that really what I’m supposed to be doing? Is that it? It sounds so–monotonously boring and dull. It feels empty! I have always thought that working in the corporate world would bring satisfaction, because it would fulfill my financial obligations. I’ve always thought having money for travel, for shopping, for anything… would lead to my perpetual amusement every pay day… but I beg to differ. I have always looked forward to weekends consisting of multiple community events, meetings, and fellowships. I have always looked forward to finding the fulfillment of my purpose through my service, because I am never satisfied in anything else. It seems like I’m craving for something more–something greater. I even took on more work responsibilities because I felt like the job just got too repetitive,Β still the need to satisfy the void recurs. I’ve bombarded the Lord with questions, and in my confusion, I’ve asked Him to lead me on how to fulfill these desires. Do I sound too foolish to think that there is a greater purpose than what I’m really doing? Do I sound selfish to be even thinking about these things because of the blessings God has graciously blessed me with? Am I the only one who feels/thinks/aspires that God has a greater purpose in my life–in our lives?

I feel like I’m the only one. I can’t be the only one.

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

11 thoughts on “Why I Want to Quit my Job–(a Confession)”

  1. You aren’t the only one, I felt the same way when I started my first job after graduating graduate school. Part of my discontent stemmed from the job’s culture and another part stemmed from being in a different routine than being a ‘student’. The real world may not be dynamic enough. A year and a half into my career, I found a new job that better fits my needs. Keep looking and asking God for a better situation, but still appreciate what you have. You aren’t alone.

    1. Maybe you’re right, it is simply the change in environment. I wouldn’t doubt that it can be the cause, however I am still also exposed in an educational setting because I’m a part-time teacher as well. Thanks for your comment. God bless.

      1. not the same ( I too am a teacher) in school you are judged only by whether you get the right answer; now you are judged by everything about you; and frequently you will find that in the “real world” your actual performance is the last thing that matters when people make decisions about you. Many times we want to run away from situations that are unwelcome; however I have found in my life that no matter how far I go, the same FEELINGS are still there. It is not about feelings, life is about doing the tasks laid out for you. If Our Lord wants you to do something else for Him, He will make it abundantly clear for you. Trust me.

  2. Hello there, your post caught my attention. I have been in that place and talked to some a few people in that place too. You are definitely not the only one.
    I just wrote a post on my blog called “Why am I here?” you can take a look if you are interested. (I haven’t left a link, in case you are not interested) πŸ™‚

    1. I appreciate your comment. Indeed, we are all made for a greater purpose. I wish you luck and God bless. I will look into your story, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

