Do you believe in Jesus?

Imagine praying to the Lord about something you have been truly desiring for a really long time and He gets back to you asking, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” (Matthew 9:28). What would have been your response? Many times we believe that God works in amazing ways, but we always fail to realize that sometimes His definition of “amazing” might not be equivalent to our definition of what “amazing” actually is. We consider that the blessings we receive are rewards for being a faithful servant, but sometimes we also consider the challenges to be punishment for being unworthy.

Most of the time we pray about something, but still end up worrying about it. We disregard the power of prayer, because we always appear to doubt it. We feel as though often times it will be “too good to be true,” and that our lives depend on ourselves alone. Our constant struggles become our life’s journey. Our wishes and desires become our future alone. We forget to put God in the picture. We forget to see Him in the picture. We forget that He is the picture.

Maybe, it’s true. Maybe it is the human condition–the human dilemma. We can’t stop worrying. We can’t stop trying to plan out our lives the way we want. We can’t stop focusing on our desires. We just can’t. It’s the human thing to do. We’re all human. And it’s okay to make choices that will benefit “us” from being human. It is. That’s the reason God gave us freedom.

However, we are also created to be holy humans–to be holy men and women of God. And that’s what we always seem to forget. It’s not really what we strive to become, because we think it is humanly impossible to achieve. I am no perfect human. And hey… I am not even close to being called holy. In fact, the struggle is there. Everyday I struggle to live a holy life. And perhaps, the only thing I really need to… or the only thing “we” really need to do is to actually, fully, entirely, and absolutely believe that Jesus is truly able to work wonders in our lives. If we firmly believe it.

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

Leave a Reply

