2014: The Year God Tested Me

What do you remember most about 2014?

I’m going to admit that 2014 was one of my not-so-nice-to-remember years. Although, I do remember occasions of unforgettable moments with loved ones, I am thankful to have experienced all of it. Now, looking back, I have realized a great deal of urgency when God first showed me a sign of His ever-so-loving character at the lowest point of my year.Β It has been an “ebb of a year” not only in my faith, but most certainly in my personal and not-so-personal life, and in my relationships with friends and loved ones. There were multitudes of blessings God showered me with, and recalling the year, I acted a bit ungrateful and unappreciative of His blessings, because I was focusing on all the miserable incidents that was happening to me (i.e. lowest point of my year).

I have experienced tremendous doubt and fear this year. Dreadful moments in school, at work, at home, even in my relationship with the Lord was tested and scorned by the devil. I still recall the moment when the clock turned 12am on New Year’s Day. I was not with my family. It was the first time we did not spend New Year’s Eve together, but nonetheless I claimed that it will be a good year for me, because it will be the year I will be graduating and will be getting a good job. It was a tough last semester of school, and surprisingly enough, I graduated (Woohoo!). It was a vigorous battle of self-assurance and faith in the Lord. Through family and friends, who were keeping me at ease, I survived. (Thank You Lord for the people who surround and assure us!) This was also the year that I was reunited with my family after three long, miserable years we were apart. This was the year when I experienced the agony of rejection, and joy of gaining new opportunities; a year of resolving broken relationships, and forgetting what hurt the most. It was one heck of a year when God tested me excessively and most of the time I have failed Him miserably (but He still loves me the same, how awesome is that!). 2014 has come to an end, and with it came experiences that fashioned me to be the person that I am, and will be this 2015.

Most people will say, forget the hurt, and the pain that 2014 brought you and look forward to what 2015 will bring. Most people will claim that 2015 will be their year (i.e. “New Year, New Me” tweets). Most people will act on the resolutions they haven’t done on the prior years. We see all these, new year resolution lists every year, all these “I will do my best this year to-” claims, all the “Be fit” tags and posts, but we forget that all of these are just mere intentions. We forget that God and only God will hold our year. Our New Year’s Resolution to be the “New-Us” should always be the renewal of ourselves through God, because admit it or not, facing a year’s worth of challenges will not be easy unless we claim that God will be with us.

Until then, I can’t wait to hear all about your 2015: The Year God Was With Me.

Happy New Year and a Blessed Year ahead for all of us!

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

Leave a Reply

