Pursuit of Happiness

In his book Made for More, Curtis Martin mentioned that “all our choices—including the evil ones—are ultimately aimed at getting happiness.” If you evaluate your life and ask yourself why you did certain things, why you made certain choices, and why you responded to certain situations the way you had, it would become clear that the answer to those why’s are aimed at “us” being happy. We all want to be happy. We all want to be constantly happy, but what if the path to our happiness causes us to drift in our service to our family, our church, and our community?

Last Saturday, we had a Liturgical Bible Study (LBS). This was a very fitting session for me because my mind has been clouded with worries, fears, and uncertainties of the future. Being a recent graduate, it is difficult not to worry about your own future because this is the real deal. I am no longer a student who worries about classes, exams, assignments, projects, papers, or presentations. I am no longer a student who wants to graduate to make my parents proud, to make my family happy, to make myself happy. I have already reached the happiness stage of a graduate student. But why is it that when we reach a certain stage or a certain moment of happiness, a new path to happiness begins? Why can’t there be just one moment, one goal, and one path to happiness?

We fail to realize that the happiness we desire is our search for the kingdom of heaven. Pursuing the kingdom of heaven should be our goal – our ultimate and only goal. All other stages, whether it be through graduating, finding a career, raising a family; it should be focused on our journey towards heaven, because the pursuit of the kingdom of heaven is the path to everlasting happiness and unimaginable joy. “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which someone found and hid; then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.” [Matthew 13:44] Do we possess the ability give up all that we have for the kingdom of heaven?

Now I leave you with this thought. I know it is easy to lose sight of the goal. It is easy to forget that we are made for heaven, because honestly this path is not an easy path. This world is not an easy world to live in. It will be bumpy. It will be hard. You will doubt. You will fail. The important thing is to keep going, keep pushing, and keep praying.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

Author: MK Gayos

Daily, I seek the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to deliver the message of the Lord. I aim to reach out to the unreachable, and everyday I strive to live a holy life. I know I am not perfect but I know God's love is real. I am a Catholic, a pro-lifer without a doubt and I desire to live and love purely. Disclaimer: The things I write about in this blog are my views entirely and do not reflect the views of my employer, or any of the organizations I am affiliated with.

4 thoughts on “Pursuit of Happiness”

  1. Very true. It’s funny how everything you can be worried about right now or are finding hard to give up pales compared to the bigger picture of heaven.

Leave a Reply

